Getting Out of My Own Little World

It’s easier than you think to get lost in your own little world.  Even when our world seems to be growing smaller by the minute, it is still our inclination to surround ourselves with like-minded people. Pariser warns us to pop our “filter bubbles” lest we become increasingly close-minded. Just because we’re using advanced technologies does not mean we are using advanced thinking.  We must make sure we are controlling our intake. Over the past weeks I’ve thought about my own information intake (or “infodiet”) and sought ways to expand it.  Like an actual diet we need a wide variety of thought and viewpoint if we are going to maintain active, critical minds.  I took stock of my infodiet and found that I gravitate toward the following:

  • technology in education (articles, blogs)
  • constructivism/PBL (articles and specifically Buck Institute)
  • secondary education issues (articles, blogs)
  • TED – I’m hooked
  • racial justice issues (articles, blogs, essays, etc.)
  • mommy blogs

My current diet is that of a progressive educator focused on secondary education.  My mother teaches 1st grade, and when I talk with her I am often surprised at how much I gain from her different perspective.  Our conversations inspired me to branch into the world of elementary. One theory that I’ve heard a bit about through my mommy blog reading and constructivist inputs was that of Maria Montessori.  I was surprised to see her name popping up as I stepped foot into the world of elementary teachers.  I became intrigued.  In particular, I read quite a bit from:

A lot of the reading was directly applicable to my life with toddlers at home, but I have been impressed with how this method pushed my ideas as a teacher.  Here are the main themes in my thinking: #1 – Give the Child the Lead:  The idea of “following the child” is a big part of Montessori’s teaching.   We can trust children and people to develop well if we give them room to decide and move for themselves.  Trust is a difficult thing as is the relinquishing of power.  Continuing to read more from Montessori teachers promises to push me to give even more control and decision making to my students as I craft PBL curriculum. #2 – Control the Environment, not the Child:  Montessori teachers are extremely concerned about the environment.  Instead of over focusing on controlling the child, they think about each detail in the way material is selected and presented.  As they talked through lesson choices I was a bit in awe of ho w each detail was intentional, and sometimes found myself being skeptical of that level of planning.  I can learn a lot of about how to select and craft experiences! #3 – Teach by Teaching:  This phrase from Montessori herself has come up in numerous articles and posts that I’ve read.  The idea here is that teachers are to model and explain their own actions instead of telling/lecturing at students about what should be done..  Again, a lot of care is taken in how modeling is given and planned.  Modeling well is something I feel I struggle with as an online teacher.  I’m excited to see how I can glean inspiration for future work from this new perspective. It has been challenging, but rewarding to branch out and add to my info intake.  Rethinking our intake is a worthwhile use of time and something that should get us reflecting on a more regular basis.  After all, those filter bubbles aren’t going to pop themselves!


References Popkorn, Alice. (2009). “Earth day” [Image file].  https://www.flickr.com/photos/alicepopkorn/3465543289.

2 thoughts on “Getting Out of My Own Little World

  1. lohitsas says:

    I made so many connection with your blog post this week! I think you are absolutely right in saying that just because we are using advanced technology doesn’t mean we are using advanced thinking. It directly relates to Dr.Mishra’s idea of TPACK! I am fascinated by the motessori model and have been doing some research to learn more about their approach as well. I actually went to a montessori when I was a child but was entirely to young to see it’s advantages until conducting more research of my own. Do you find any similarities between motessori schooling and project based learning? I find that the set up of the processes, environment and use of materials are very similar in nature. What are your thoughts?

    Like

  2. Anna says:

    The TPACK connection you made is perfect – should have seen that myself! Thanks for bringing that up.

    I think that Montessori and PBL are definitely connected in the way they promote the child as the driving force in their learning. Constructivism can be seen in both as well, and as you mentioned, the processes, environment and real world materials are similar. I think the biggest difference is that in Montessori the presentation is seen as more important. And the modeling – man, they model like nothing I’ve ever seen. The intense focus on the trust for the child to embrace learning without prodding is particularly challenging to me and my work with teenagers. So many of them have been disenchanted, that I’m not sure just the option is enough? Still trying to think that one out.

    Like

Leave a comment